top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Eclectic Office Finale - One Room Challenge Week 6

Hello! If you are finding me through the One Room Challenge, it's so nice to meet you! I'm Amber, a wife and mother of two toddler boys and a sweet, floppy golden-doodle. We live as renters in my grandmother's home which she graciously lets us have our way with. I have an eclectic style and love fun colors. My main purpose in my blog is to teach people that with creativity, imagination, and a little bit (sometimes a lot a bit) of work, they can make their homes what they want without breaking the bank. Thank you so much for stopping by! Be sure to head over to my instagram, Homemaking Homebody, to see real life updates in my stories.


Well, friends! Here we are! This challenge is over and now all I'm left with are fond memories and a beautiful office to work in. I am over the moon with this room, and I hope you've enjoyed seeing the transformation! If you missed any weeks here is a quick recap...



Let's take a walk down memory lane! Remember this sad excuse for a room masquerading as an oversized closet??


Let's also remember that this was it when it was clean. I can honestly say that I do not miss this view. When I dreamed up what this space could become I envisioned bright, light, colorful, and eclectic. Here is what that design plan looked like.


I can now look at this picture and not feel the stress of a deadline, but I can soak up the fact that this room lives in my home now! So this week the finishing additions were adding chair rail between the wallpaper and "sharpie-lap", a fun DIY gallery wall, and *drum roll* adding in the desk. Now the desk is an amazing gift to me. I had planned to take some cheap pine board and mount it on the IKEA legs I had purchased and have a wall to wall desk. Until we realized that the board I was looking at was two inches smaller than the width of the legs. Whomp whomp. I felt a little defeated because we began to look into IKEA counter tops (which are still affordable to be fair) that were out of my original budget for the room. Then walks in a dear friend who makes a hobby out of woodworking. He has a buddy who works at a sawmill who supplies his lumber, and he has a shop in his garage. He so very graciously offered to make our desk for us and I am so thankful. I know not everyone has this advantage for a challenge like this, but I am incredibly grateful to have friends like these. I don't know much about woodworking, but these are the progress pictures he sent while working on it.




I absolutely love the natural marbling of the wood. Have I mentioned how thankful I am??


The gallery wall was fun to put together, and by far the easiest project of the challenge. I purchased a Rifle Paper Company Maps calendar, cut out 9 maps, and hung them on Dollar Tree clipboards on the wall. So easy, but it makes such a big impact.


So here we go! This is the reveal!






What once was my absolute least favorite place in my house, is now a place I adore. This challenge was incredibly fun and I hope to participate again!

Thank you so much for checking out this post!

Be sure to follow along over on my instagram, Homemaking Homebody, so that I can get to know you and you can see real life DIY in stories.


Thank you again for stopping by!

Let's be friends!

Amber

223 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page