top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Updating A Filing Cabinet With Chalk Paint - One Room Challenge Week 3

Updated: Oct 30, 2019

Hello! If you are finding me through the One Room Challenge, it's so nice to meet you! I'm Amber, a wife and mother of two toddler boys and a sweet, floppy golden-doodle. We live as renters in my grandmother's home which she graciously lets us have our way with. I have an eclectic style and love fun colors. My main purpose in my blog is to teach people that with creativity, imagination, and a little bit (sometimes a lot a bit) of work, they can make their homes what they want without breaking the bank. Thank you so much for stopping by! Be sure to head over to my instagram, Homemaking Homebody, to see real life updates in my stories.


This week I took an old filing cabinet and gave it a makeover!

In my original design plan I included a filing cabinet because we already had one! Well, joke was on me, because turns out we had gotten rid of it, but my heart was still set on re-doing one by this point! So thankfully I found one for $10 on the Facebook Marketplace and now all is well with the world. HERE SHE IS!


Very beige, very basic, filing cabinet. The reward is so fun, I think! I started by propping the cabinet up on some bricks outside, removing the drawers, and removing the drawer hardware.



I had gone to Home Depot earlier in the day to try out the Behr Chalk paint! I had them mix it in the color Surf. I also purchased a Chalk Paint brush from Michael's and WOULD NOT recommend this one. I got it for the cheaper price point, and that in turn left bristles all over the place.



I painted the chalk paint on in cross hatch motions so that it could self level itself.


The photo shows smaller crosshatch sweeps, by the last coat I realized larger sweeps work better! Learn from my process!

I had this gold spray paint in a closet waiting to be used for some time now, so I sprayed all of the hardware and it really tied the entire thing together!



So there you have it! I did two coats of gold on the hardware, and three coats of chalk paint! Have you ever redone your filing cabinet? I'd love to hear about it!

Oh, and by the way, the rug came in! Peep it in the corner of this picture!


To see my original design board click here!

To learn about my DIY Anthro Inspired No-Sew Curtains head here!

Be sure to follow along the next five weeks here and over on my instagram, Homemaking Homebody, so that I can get to know you and you can see real life DIY in stories.


Thank you again for stopping by!

Let's be friends!

Amber

324 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page