top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Kraft Paper Calendar

Happy Friday! I'm so glad you're here!

I've been wanting a kraft paper roll in my kitchen for what feels like FOREVER now, but didn't want to pay the hefty price that came with it. I found many tutorials on Pinterest for how to make one from things bought at IKEA and that was pretty much what I was planning. UNTIL I FOUND THE ONE. Sitting quietly in Hobby Lobby under the most beautiful sign in the world that read "50% off" was a roll that I would once have cried about the price tag of, but could now rejoice in God's providence. (Too much? Maybe... OR MAYBE NOT.) So for the price of building one from IKEA ($30) I walked out of that store with full arms and a full heart.

As soon as I got home my husband put it on the wall and I felt like Santa had come. It was beautiful.

So of course when I woke up the morning, I had to draw a calendar on it. I mean, what else was I supposed to do??

LET'S GET STARTED.

What you need:

+ Kraft paper roll & Holder

+ Level

+ Ruler

+ Pencil

+ Sharpie


So to begin I had to figure out what December actually looked like. Since the first was on a Sunday this year, it made it slightly easier. I already knew I needed 7 boxes across (cause a week, obvi) and I learned I needed 5 boxes down. I didn't like math and highschool and I don't like math now, but I like this project so bear with me.

I measured out enough space for each of the "days" to have 2.5 in (marked with pencil) and then used a level to be my guide to draw a line with a sharpie.


Each row down I gave 3 in. and then used the level to box out the measurements.

Once I had made my giant box, I went in with the ruler and pencil and marked where each vertical line would sit in the big box, and then drew over them with a sharpie.


You can see where I bumped my finger a little bit tracing here, but the good news is I wasn't aiming for perfection.

Once I finished the vertical lines, I measured for the horizontal. Then I labeled days and dates.


YAY IT'S LIKE A CALENDAR.

Part of the fun of something like this to me though is calligraphy or simple illustrations. SO I DID BOTH.

I wrote out "December" with a pencil first.


And then I traced over it with Sharpie.



Once I finished the month name, I made cute little minimalist trees to go next to it.

If perfection is your goal, this project might be difficult. I enjoy things that look homemade, I find them charming. So little quirks on this don't bother me one bit.

BUT I'M IN LOVE.

Since posting this I have filled it out with our upcoming schedules, but that isn't very picture worthy so I'm only sharing the cutest version with you.

Have you ever drawn a calendar? I'd love to hear or see what you did!

Thanks again for stopping by!

Let's be friends!

Amber

187 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page