top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Wallpaper Isn't For The Birds - One Room Challenge

Hello! If you are finding me through the One Room Challenge, it's so nice to meet you! I'm Amber, a wife and mother of two toddler boys and a sweet, floppy golden-doodle. We live as renters in my grandmother's home which she graciously lets us have our way with. I have an eclectic style and love fun colors. My main purpose in my blog is to teach people that with creativity, imagination, and a little bit (sometimes a lot a bit) of work, they can make their homes what they want without breaking the bank. Thank you so much for stopping by! Be sure to head over to my instagram, Homemaking Homebody, to see real life updates in my stories.

IT'S WEEK FIVE, STAY CALM. JUST BREATHE, OKAY?! WE'VE ALMOST MADE IT. If you missed the other posts here's a quick recap:



SO NOW THAT I HAVE YOU HERE, we can stop yelling out of excitement. Even though I'm super excited about what this week had in store for me.

Let's take a deep breath and say this together... "Modern wallpaper is not scary." Which is funny to admit because I was honestly terrified.


My dear friend, and favorite artist, Laci Fowler is creating wallpaper now. To say that they are swoon worthy is a complete understatement. In a world lacking in color, Laci understands my color loving heart. Which is ironic to say because I chose a black and white pattern! Her art is typically saturated in beautiful color and drips with whimsy. As soon as I decided to participate in this challenge I knew I HAD to have some of her gorgeous wallpaper in it. These birds give my heart WINGS. (I know, that was cheesy.. BUT IT'S TRUE)


The wallpaper is exceptional quality and so easy to install. It is a peel and stick application and once we got going it was smooth sailing! It did take us a minute to get the first panel level and lined up, but thats because our walls are slightly crooked from the house settling over time. So your application process might be easier to start.


We started by peeling back a few inches from the top of the roll and aligning the paper with the ceiling and neighboring wall as best as possible.

Then I would smooth the paper onto the wall from left to right with my hand. Then we'd pull away more of the backing and smooth down the wallpaper further down the wall.

Once we reached our desired height, we used a utility knife to cut an exact line. With the next section, we would slightly overlap by about 3/4 of an inch so that the pattern stayed consistent. (Not sure if all wallpaper is like this, but this is how this one works and I found it super helpful.)


This wallpaper is also super helpful because it has small markers on the side of the design so that it's easy to exactly match up the pattern.


So not only is the wall paper phenomenal quality and absolutely gorgeous, but it was honestly so simple to apply. My heart is over the moon with the way this room is coming along!


Next week will be our reveal, and all that is left is chair rail between the wallpaper and "Sharpie-lap", our wall to wall desk, some more storage options, and maybe a couple of surprises!


Have you ever used peel and stick wallpaper? How was your experience?


Be sure to follow along the next five weeks here and over on my instagram, Homemaking Homebody, so that I can get to know you and you can see real life DIY in stories.


Thank you again for stopping by!

Let's be friends!

Amber

98 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page