top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

Anthro Inspired No Sew Curtains: One Room Challenge Week 2

Hello! If you are finding me through the One Room Challenge, it's so nice to meet you! I'm Amber, a wife and mother of two toddler boys and a sweet, floppy golden-doodle. We live as renters in my grandmother's home which she graciously lets us have our way with. I have an eclectic style and love fun colors. My main purpose in my blog is to teach people that with creativity, imagination, and a little bit (sometimes a lot a bit) of work, they can make their homes what they want without breaking the bank. Thank you so much for stopping by! Be sure to head over to my instagram, Homemaking Homebody, to see real life updates in my stories.


We're rounding up week two, and even though I was out of town for half of it, we've still gotten a good bit accomplished. We painted all of the baseboards of the room a clean white in semi-gloss finish and also had to paint the two doors. We've also started painting the walls the same white in an eggshell finish. The room is kind of small, so I'm hopeful that by using a bright white on the walls and adding color through accents and the rug will help make it feel bigger and more airy.


Since my week was cut in half, my main projects were painting and Anthro Inspired curtains. I honestly swoon over EVERYTHING in Anthropologie, but my wallet has anxiety attacks over that place. Something about their tasseled, or pom-pom-ed curtains, really give me all the heart eyes. They're so whimsical and add just a touch of fun to a room without an explosion to your eyeballs. Unfortunately, the ring to the tune of $80-$100 for the length that I prefer. Per. Panel. My wallet is asking for a brown bag to breathe into already.


As beautiful as those are, that kind of money for curtains does not come easy for me. So when I redid our master bedroom a few months ago, I knew I could make some of my own. For cheaper. And without sewing. (Did she just say?? Yeah, I don't sew.) I had two sheer curtain panels from Ikea that I knew I could do something with. I ventured to Hobby Lobby, bought some yardage from this pom pom roll, and got busy.


I know what you're thinking, "What did you do?". *Don't hit me* Hot glue. The crafter's best friend. The one who burns you but you forgive. This time I decided I wanted to go with white poms, and... not use actual curtains. Instead I used sheets from Walmart.


Here we go! These are the supplies that you need.

+Two twin Mainstays' flat sheets, or if your Walmart is out Queen works too! (That's what I'm using)

+Scissors (Preferably ones that are super sharp for the fabric.)

+Hot Glue Gun (Extra Hot Glue)

+And 12 yards of White Pom Poms. (Often found for 50% off at Hobby Lobby)

Let's start these suckers.


Since I used the Queen size, I laid it out flat and folded in half. (Don't worry, I'm gonna iron when I'm done) Then I ran the scissors along the fold to get even halves.


One they were in half I folded up on and set it aside. Then I started untwisting and laying the pom string out.

You want to make sure before each little section, you already have the poms straight and ready, because there isn't much time for error with hot glue. Then I begin squeezing out rows of about four to five glue dots along the edge, and immediately place the string being sure to pick it up off the rug. Squeezing from both sides helps the curtain not stick to the rug, but also allows the tightest hold.

I giggled the entire time I made our bedroom curtains, and this time was no different. I love knowing how ridiculously inexpensive this project is, but how convincing it looks. I do both sides of each panel, but opting to do one side each also looks cute!


I'm saving the finished product for the room reveal, but heres a quick look at a finished side!


I am always excited to be able to make something very affordable that is usually very expensive. The total cost of this project (because I already own hot glue (gun and sticks) and scissors) was around $23. FOR BOTH PANELS!


Be sure to follow along the next five weeks here and over on my instagram, Homemaking Homebody, so that I can get to know you and you can see real life DIY in stories.



Thank you again for stopping by!

Let's be friends!

Amber

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page