top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber

How I Transformed My Half Bath On A Budget

By far, one of the most liked rooms in my home is my half bath. It's a quirky little space nestled between my master bedroom and living room (Odd, right?) with doors connecting to both. This room took me the longest to decide how I wanted to design it because it was just a brown box. For a good bit of time it was a glorified closet. The toilet didn't work and it was so dark, very closet like. When inspiration struck, it struck hard. I've made a few posts about specific projects in this half-bath, but I realized I never went into detail on how much it cost! So here we are! Let's take a quick walk down memory lane. A dark, brown box? That can't possibly be true! Just look!


Oh, did I not mention there was carpet as well? Silly me. Thankfully that was the first thing to go! This is my grandmother's home, and she graciously rents it out to us and lets us update however we wish. When we moved in she already had peel and stick tiles to replace the carpet with, so we never lived with carpeted bathrooms.

Now we get to the question of how did we get from that to this?




Let's break it down!


First we replaced the toilet.

$89 - We bought this one. The other one was too broken to fix.


After that we had to take down the wallpaper.

$28.26 - I bought this kit and this bottle.


$0 - After the wallpaper was down I primed the panelling with this that I had leftover from our living room. (You can learn how I paint panelling here) Since I already had half a can, I didn't add the price to the room cost. Always check what supplies you already have around the house for updates! It will keep your budget down, and help use product before it goes bad!


Once the primer had dried, I painted the panelling and previously wallpapered walls white!

$0 - We used this paint in Pure White (the color it comes in) that we already had from other projects.

We already had a Semi-gloss finish as well, so I used that on the trim.


Next came the "wallpaper"! (You can read about how I painted that here.

$13.98 - I picked out a pretty teal color and purchased this size of it.

I already had the foam brush I used in my crafting supplies.


For the tile I used a removable wallpaper from Target! I ended up purchasing two rolls for the amount that I needed, but barely cut into the second roll.

$34.00 (x2) - I was also able to use this in a couple other projects, so the price paid off.


Once the wallpaper was finished we just needed decor!

$10 - Mirror found on Facebook Marketplace

$1 - Framed art over toilet (I made it myself from a dollar store frame and a self made print, and have a tutorial on my instagram!)

$20 - Home Goods rug

$10 - Target Opalhouse hand towel like this

$7 - Hobby Lobby vase (no longer sold, similar to this one that I now want.)

$3.99 (x3) - These fake flowers bought at 50% off)


Everything else I already had! The stool was a gift and actually has one of my son's names on it. I have a matching one with the other boy's name on it that I keep in the kitchen. The art I painted several years ago and couldn't find a place for.


After all of that part of the renovation we were left with this!


We left it like this for a while fully intending on doing something to the peel and stick tiles. We eventually painted them white! (You can read how we did that here)

$29.98 - We used this floor paint in pure white.








If we didn't have to replace the toilet we would have spent less than $250, but with the toilet included we clock in at $329.19. I hope you enjoyed this and were able to get inspired by this transformation! If you have any questions be sure to let me know!

Thank you for stopping by!


Let's be friends!

Amber

495 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page